## ARROWHEAD UNION HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING SEPTEMBER 14, 2016 MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by President Rosch at 7:00 p.m. in the District Office Board Room.

Everyone rose for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present: Bob Rosch, Kent Rice, Sue Schultz, Craig Thompson, Donna Beringer, Dave Dean, Tim Langer, Joe LeBlanc, Al Zietlow

Administration present: Laura Myrah, Steve Kopecky, Adam Boldt, Gregg Wieczorek, Ryan Mangan

The meeting was properly posted.

Moved by Rice, seconded by Zietlow to approve the minutes of the August 10, 2016, Special Board meeting, the August 10, 2016, Regular Board meeting, the August 17, 2016, Annual Meeting, the August 17, 2016, Special Board meeting, and the August 24, 2016, Special Board meeting as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by LeBlanc, seconded by Dean to approve the operating bill list and pay vouchers 816, 145063, 145420-145524, 201600044-201600076, 201600081-201600100, and 201600103 in the amount of \$1,292,663.95 and to approve credit card expenditure transactions as presented in the amount of \$143,074.97. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

CITIZEN COMMUNICATIONS AND COMMENTS - None.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT -

Mr. Wieczorek, principal, reported that the start of school is going very well and shared several highlights. Mr. Mangan shared information regarding the transition into his new position as Arrowhead High School's activities director.

Ms. Myrah presented the proposed 2016/2017 performance goal topics for the superintendent to the Board of Education for their review and consideration. Once agreed upon, additional written details will be provided for each goal, including rationale, intended outcomes, and key activities.

CURRICULUM – The next meeting of the Curriculum Committee is scheduled for September 29, 2016, at 6:45 a.m.

FINANCE & LEGISLATION -

Mr. Kopecky reviewed the bids received this morning for short-term borrowing. It is the recommendation from administration that the short-term borrowing note be secured from BOK Financial Securities, Inc., the lowest bidder.

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Langer to approve the "Resolution Authorizing Taxable Temporary Borrowing In Amount Not To Exceed \$2,100,000, Pursuant to Section 67.12(8)(a)1, Wis. Statutes," as presented, and secure the Taxable Tax and Revenue Anticipation Promissory Note from BOK Financial Securities, Inc. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

BUILDINGS & GROUNDS – Chairperson Zietlow reported on the September 7, 2016, meeting. The committee discussed the post referendum architect fee and agreed in concept to the fee of 4.7% of the cost of the work. Action on the fee will occur after a successful referendum. The committee also reviewed the referendum project preliminary design and construction timeline. Based on a successful referendum, the construction is proposed to begin in the summer of 2017, and full project completion is projected by the end of summer of 2019.

The committee was updated regarding the summer of 2016 building envelope projects, which included the North Campus pool door replacement, South Campus dock door replacement, and North Campus clerestory remodel.

The next Buildings and Grounds Committee meeting is scheduled for October 5, 2016, at 7:00 a.m.

PERSONNEL -

At this time, Ms. Beringer presented Sue Schultz, board clerk, with the Arrowhead Award. Ms. Schultz was congratulated and applauded for her achievement.

Moved by Rice, seconded by Zietlow to approve the following individuals to be recipients of the 2016 Arrowhead Award, as recommended by the Personnel Committee: Jen Charles, Deb Brummer, Candy Lesch, Julie Brzozowski, Therese Rodeghier, and Sue Schultz. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

The next meeting of the Personnel Committee is to be determined.

POLICY – The next meeting of the Policy Committee is to be determined.

WASB – Mr. Zietlow noted that the 2016 WASB Fall Regional meeting for Region 11 is scheduled for September 28, 2016, at the Country Springs Hotel in Pewaukee, and he is a nominee for a three-year term on the WASB Board of Directors from Region 11. He also noted that the 2016 WSAA/WASB Employment and School Law Seminar is scheduled for October 13 and 14, 2016, in Wisconsin Dells.

CESA – Mr. Zietlow reported that the next CESA #1 Board of Control meeting is scheduled for September 20, 2016. He also noted that The Institute for Personalized Learning will host their 7<sup>th</sup> Annual National Convening on Personalized Learning: Preparing Learners for the Future, on November 11-12, 2016, in Milwaukee.

## NEW BUSINESS:

Moved by LeBlanc, seconded by Zietlow to accept the resignation of Melissa Joda, effective August 24, 2016, as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Thompson to approve the 2016/2017 new professional staff contract for Laura Bowen (Reading Interventionist); to approve the 2016/2017 support staff letter of appointment for Rachel Archibald (Math Tutor), Kathy Ferschinger-Budzien (Math Tutor), and Andrew Meyer (Lunch Room/Study Hall Aide); and to approve the 2016/2017 cocurricular contract for Logan Martell (Asst. Boys Soccer Coach), Scott Asher (Asst. Boys Soccer Coach), Dustin Day (Asst. Boys Volleyball Coach), Deb Paradowski (Asst. Boys Volleyball Coach), Eric Moore (Asst. Girls Cross Country Coach), and Lori Barbee (Yearbook Advisor), as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Rice to accept the donation of \$1,000.00 from the VFW Dept of WI, Marshall Johnson Post 5158, Hartland, Wisconsin, to the Design Engineering Manufacturing Center, as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Rice that pursuant to State Statute 19.85(1)(g), the Board of Education will move into closed session and reconvene to address public business matters:

• Conferring with legal counsel for the governmental body who is rendering oral or written advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the body with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved

Roll Call Vote: Langer – aye, Thompson – aye, Zietlow – aye, Beringer – aye, Rosch – aye, LeBlanc – aye, Schultz – aye, Dean – aye, Rice – aye. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Langer to move into open session.

Roll Call Vote: Beringer – aye, Dean – aye, Langer – aye, LeBlanc – aye, Rice – aye, Rosch – aye, Schultz – aye, Thompson – aye, Zietlow – aye. <u>Motion Carried</u>.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS – None presented.

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Langer to adjourn. Motion Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hoag Recording Secretary